Introduction

Screen shot 2016-09-05 at 1.48.37 AM

Hello, this is Alejandra P. I am currently a college student working on transferring to a four year school to pursue a degree in English, though which degree I don’t know yet.

I wanted to write this post in conjunction with the About page because I felt it was only right to start off the blog with an introduction to myself instead of just jumping into creating content (though there’s nothing wrong with that). Truthfully the main objective of this post was to create a writing tag so that I could properly finish the layout of the blog, but let’s pretend I didn’t just divulge that.

So I’m a 23 year old female currently residing in the Bay Area, and I have too many hobbies to count (singing, painting, reading, and of course writing amongst other things) as well as many interests career-wise. I began writing properly when I was seven years old, and I grew up with teachers and professors telling me that I reminded them of an English professor, or that I should pursue writing and try to get published. It wasn’t until high school that I started to seriously get into the craft and consider taking it to the next level. However, along the way I became swayed by the appeals of other fields (psychology, politics, culinary arts, and eventually business and marketing) that I lost sight of my original path in writing. To say that I now know what it is I want to do would be a lie, and it would also be untruthful of me to say that I haven’t grown quite dissatisfied with staying in one place for this long.

I’ve had my regrets, leaving University early and taking a year off, and then wasting time at community college under the pretext of not knowing what to do or what it is I would most like to do. A part of me even has doubts that creative writing (which is what I listed as my intended major on my transfer applications) is the way to go. I do love poetry writing, but I’m not the type of person who can be motivated to spew out creative work like a well-oiled machine. I have mood swings and lazy tendencies (which are like demons to me), and I so much prefer analytical and technical writing anyway, but I need to commit to this and get it done. I need to feel that I’ve achieved something for myself and that I’ve got a foot in the door somewhere.

I hope this blog will be a lasting platform for my literary and artistic work, and through this I hope I will be able to find my voice as a writer so that I may cement my conviction in the hasty decision that I’ve made to continue on this path. Thanks for reading if you’ve made it this far, and I hope you will stick with me as I explore more of myself in writing.

-Sincerely, A. Pereda

Leave a Reply

